

Communiqué: September 2012 meeting of the Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia

27 September 2012

Accreditation Committee

The Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia (the Board) has determined that it will establish an Accreditation Committee, The decision to establish a committee was recently taken by the Board under s.43 of the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law, as in force in each State and Territory (the National Law).

The role of the Accreditation Committee will be to recommend accreditation standards to the National Board for approval and to assess whether programs of study and education providers are meeting the accreditation standards. Accreditation standards help to ensure that education providers equip students with the knowledge, skills and professional attributes to competently practice.

Students who graduate from an accredited and approved course are eligible for general registration.

Accreditation Committee consultation

The Board is undertaking broad public consultation on the composition of the Accreditation Committee. The Board's proposed composition includes at least one educationalist, at least one medical radiation academic, at least one medical radiation practitioner and at least one allied health sciences academic.

The Board seeks feedback on the following.

- a) Do you agree with the proposed inclusion of at least one educationalist, at least one medical radiation academic, at least one medical radiation practitioner and at least one allied health sciences academic to the Committee?
- b) Do you think there should be additional sub-criteria for the selection of the above persons and if so what should they be?
- c) Do you think a Board member should be on the Accreditation Committee?
- d) Do you think a community representative should be on the Accreditation Committee?
- e) How many members do you think the Committee should have?

Submissions to the consultation are due by close of business on 1 October 2012.

Registration renewal

Many medical radiation practitioners are due to renew their registration with the Board by 30 November 2012.

Eventually, the annual registration renewal date for all medical radiation practitioners will be this date. However because some practitioners have transitioned to the National Scheme from local boards with different renewal cycles, it will take some time for the renewal dates to align nationally.

For the coming year, the renewal dates for medical radiation practitioners will be:

ACT	30 November 2012
New South Wales	30 November 2012
Northern Territory	30 November 2012
South Australia	30 November 2012
Victoria	30 November 2012
Tasmania	31 March 2013
Queensland	30 June 2013
Western Australia	30 June 2013

Practitioners who were not registered with a local state or territory board before 1 July 2012 must renew their registration by 30 November 2012.

Look out for AHPRA's email reminders to renew as confirmation that online renewal is open. Reminders will be emailed several times during the renewal period, so please make sure your contact details provided to AHPRA are up to date.

If you are not sure if you have to renew, check your record on the Register of Practitioners. You can trust this record. The date you must renew by will be the registration expiry date on your record. Frequently asked questions about renewal is available on the Board's website.

Student registration

Individual students do not need to do anything to register with their National Board. It is the responsibility of the education provider to ensure they have provided AHPRA with the details of all students enrolled in an approved program of study or who are undertaking clinical training.

Students enrolled in approved programs of study

AHPRA will request an update of all new and existing students enrolled in an approved program of study from all education providers twice a year to coincide with each academic census date (March and August).

Note: An approved program of study, for a health profession means an accredited program of study— (a) approved under section 49(1) by the National Board established for the health profession; and (b) included in the list published by the National Agency under section 49(5).

A list of approved programs of study can be found on the Board's website here: <u>www.medicalradiationpracticeboard.gov.au/Accreditation.aspx</u>

Students undertaking clinical training that is not part of an approved program of study

Student registration also applies to students who are **not** enrolled in an approved program of study but are undertaking clinical training (clinical placement, rotation etc.) in a health profession for which they do not hold health practitioner registration.

Education providers must provide student details to AHPRA at the start of clinical training. For the purpose of clinical training, education providers also include health services, other organisations and in some instances, individuals.

Changes to the Medicare Benefits Schedule (MBS)

On 1 November 2012, amendments to the Health Insurance (Diagnostic Imaging Services Table) Regulations 2012 will introduce restrictions on who is able to perform Medicare funded x-ray, angiography and fluoroscopy procedures, which are forms of diagnostic imaging procedures under the Health Insurance Act 1973 (the Act). Only appropriately qualified health practitioners including medical practitioners and medical radiation practitioners (employed by or under the supervision of a medical practitioner) will be able to perform these procedures.

The proposed amendments will also introduce an exemption to address workforce shortages for services provided in regional, rural and remote Australia performed by operators licensed under State and Territory Laws for example, by nurses and x-ray operators.

Further information will be available on the Department of Health and Ageing's website, <u>www.health.gov.au</u>, by mid October 2012.

Appointments to AHPRA's Agency Management Committee

The membership of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) Agency Management Committee was recently announced by Australia's Health Ministers. The Agency Management Committee oversees AHPRA's work, including deciding policies. A focus for the Committee is on ensuring an effective and efficient partnership between AHPRA and the National Boards to regulate Australia's registered health practitioners and bring out the best of the National Scheme.

The Agency Management Committee's five current members have been reappointed for various terms, and three new members have been appointed. The appointment terms range from 12 months to three years, allowing for future staggered appointments to balance renewal with experience. All the appointments commenced on 3 September 2012.

AHPRA's Agency Management Committee reappointed members are:

- Mr Peter Allen: reappointed as Chair for 12 months
- Professor Genevieve Gray: reappointed for 12 months
- Professor Merrilyn Walton: reappointed for two years
- Mr Michael Gorton AM: reappointed for three years, and
- Professor Constantine (Con) Michael AO: reappointed for three years

The three new appointments for the Committee are:

- Mr Ian Smith, Chief Executive of the Western Australia Country Health Service
- Ms Fran Thorn, former Secretary of the Department of Health Victoria, and
- Ms Karen Crawshaw, Deputy Director-General, New South Wales Health.

The Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council communiqué is published on the AHPRA website here:

www.ahpra.gov.au/Legislation-and-Publications/Ministerial-Directives-and-Communiques.aspx

For more information

- Visit <u>www.medicalradiationpracticeboard.gov.au</u>
- Lodge an online enquiry by following the Contact us link on the website
- For registration enquiries: 1300 419 495 (within Australia) +61 7 3666 4911 (overseas callers)
- For media enquiries: (03) 8708 9200