

## Media release

21 February 2012

Registration applications now open for medical radiation practitioners: National Law applies from 1 July 2012

Registration applications are now open for the medical radiation practice profession which, along with three other professions, is joining the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (the National Scheme) on 1 July this year.

To be granted registration, medical radiation practitioners must meet the registration standards set by the Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia (the Board) under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law, as in force in each state and territory (the National Law).

From 1 July 2012, all practitioners not currently registered with a state and territory board must have applied – and been approved for – registration to practise.

This includes medical radiation practitioners, diagnostic radiographers, medical imaging technologists, radiographers, nuclear medicine scientists, nuclear medicine technologists and radiation therapists.

Registered practitioners in Qld., WA, Vic., Tas. and ACT, and diagnostic radiographers in NT, do not need to apply for registration, or pay an application fee to the National Board, as they are currently regulated by their state or territory board and will transition into the National Scheme.

Practitioners working in jurisdictions where medical radiation practice is not currently regulated are urged to submit their application for registration to the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) by 30 March 2012 to allow enough time for processing as a large number of applications are expected between now and 1 July 2012.

Registration application forms are now available at www.medicalradiationpracticeboard.gov.au.

Medical radiation practitioners are urged to visit the Board's website for more information about their obligations under the National Law and to check that all essential documents are included in their registration application before submitting it to AHPRA.

The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) works in partnership with 14 National Boards to implement the national regulatory scheme for health professionals. The currently regulated professions are: chiropractic, dental, medical, nursing and midwifery, optometry, osteopathy, pharmacy, physiotherapy, podiatry and psychology. As of 1 July 2012, four more professions will be regulated under the National Scheme - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health practitioners, Chinese medicine practitioners, medical radiation practitioners and occupational therapists. The purpose of health practitioner regulation is to protect the public by ensuring that only health practitioners who have the skills, qualifications and knowledge to provide safe care are registered.

## For more information

- Visit the Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia's website at www.medicalradiationpracticeboard.gov.au for specific registration information and FAQs
- Lodge an online enquiry form under *Contact us* from the homepage
- For registration enquiries: 1300 419 495 (within Australia) +61 3 8708 9001 (overseas callers)
- For media enquiries: (03) 8708 9200