Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia - National exam for medical radiation practice

National exam for medical radiation practice

The national exam for medical radiation practice is based on the Professional capabilities for medical radiation practice which describe the entry level professional capabilities for the three divisions of medical radiation practice.

The exam is an objective measure of an individual’s ability to review, critique, analyse, consolidate and synthesise knowledge and apply professional judgement in meeting the Professional capabilities.

The Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia (the Board) may use an exam:

  • before deciding an application for registration
    • where a candidate is not qualified for general registration
    • where a candidate is returning to practice after an extended break from practice, and/or
  • where there are concerns about a practitioner’s ability to practise safely.  

Questions or queries about the national examination should be directed to mrpexam@ahpra.gov.au

Pass mark

The Board calibrates the exam regularly using final-year students and recent graduates to establish baseline performance. The current pass mark for the exam is a minimum of 65 per cent in both Part A (common capabilities) and Part B (division specific capabilities). 

Limit on the number of attempts

If a candidate has attempted and failed the exam three times they will not be allowed to attempt or register to sit the exam again. For more information, please see the National exam guidelines

Exam resources

Document name PDF  Accessible format  Date of effect 
National exam guidelines  PDF 
(264 KB) 
Word version 
(6034KB,DOCX)
26 April 2022 
Professional capabilities for medical radiation practice  PDF (152 KB)   Word version
(414 KB,DOCX) 
1 March 2020

Need to sit the national
exam for medical radiation practice?

Examination portal

Access the examination portal to set up your examination account and take a practice test. Your account will be reviewed and activated within five working days.

An active examination account is required before you can register to sit the national exam for medical radiation practice. Please note the specific registration periods that apply to the examination schedule.

2023 EXAMINATION SCHEDULE

    • Monday 30 Jan till Friday 3 Feb
      Exam registration period – Mon 9 Jan to Fri 20 Jan
    • Monday 17 Apr till Friday 21 Apr
      Exam registration period – Mon 27 Mar to Fri 7 Apr
    • Monday 17 Jul till Friday 21 Jul 
      Exam registration period – Mon 26 Jun to Fri 7 Jul
    • Monday 23 Oct till Friday 27 Oct
      Exam registration period – Mon 2 Oct to Fri 13 Oct
 
 
Page reviewed 2/11/2022