Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia - About Us
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status

About Us

Functions of the Board

The Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council makes appointments to a National Board under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law, as in force in each state and territory (the National Law).

The functions of the Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia include:

  • developing standards, codes and guidelines for the medical radiation profession 
  • approving accreditation standards and accredited courses of study 
  • registering medical radiation practitioners and students 
  • handling notifications, complaints, investigations and disciplinary hearings, and 
  • assessing overseas-trained practitioners who wish to practise in Australia. 

National Board members

  • Ms Cara Miller (Chair), Practitioner Member, South Australia
  • Mr Brendan McKernan, Practitioner Member, Western Australia
  • Mr Richard Bialkowski, Community Member, Australian Capital Territory
  • Mr Anthony Buxton, Practitioner Member, New South Wales
  • Mrs Shannon Crick, Practitioner Member, Australian Capital Territory
  • Ms Kate Henderson, Community Member, Queensland
  • Ms Joan Burns, Community Member, South Australia
  • Mr Travis Pearson, Practitioner Member, Queensland
  • Ms Suzanne McGavin, Practitioner Member, Northern Territory
  • Mrs Monique Gaspar, Practitioner Member, Victoria
  • Ms Lucy Galloway, Practitioner Member, Tasmania 
  • Ms Nicole Gatt, Community Member, New South Wales

Tell us if you would like to receive notice of vacancies on the Board. For more information on appointments see Ahpra’s Ministerial directives and communiques pages.

Contact the Board

Postal address:
Cara Miller, Chair 
Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia
G.P.O. Box 9958
Melbourne VIC 3001

You can use the online enquiry form to contact the Board.

Receive updates from the Board

If you would like to receive email updates and news from the Board provide your contact details here.

Page reviewed 15/05/2024